Tags

, , ,

After almost four weeks here, Martha has gained in confidence and looks incredibly settled. She is still very guarded but accepts a lot more affection and has also returned that affection by rubbing around me, snuggling next to me on the sofa and on one occasion, sprawled full stretch across my lap in a cat cuddle.

How far she has come was demonstrated yesterday evening when a family of prospective owners arrived to pay her a visit. As Martha is still prone to disappearing under the sofa and refusing to budge when visitors arrive, I made sure that, before they arrived, she was settled in her favourite spot in the bedroom windowsill.  When they arrived, I led them into the lounge and explained where Martha was, and why. We then quietly opened the door to the bedroom, and as we stood in the doorway, Martha remained fairly relaxed as her visitors saw her for the first time. Firstly, I gently and quietly made my way over to Martha and she allowed me to stroke her. I knew that at any time, she could bolt from the room and hide away, but she didn’t. After a few minutes, and having gained Martha’s confidence, I invited one family member to join me next to Martha and take over with stroking her. Still, Martha relaxed and enjoyed the attention, to the surprise of us all. Then it was the turn of another family member who also stroked Martha without her bolting. Not only that, Martha was even confident enough to take some Dreamies treats from her hand! I would have never believed that Martha would have been so relaxed with so much attention a couple of weeks ago. The family absolutely adored her.

It was reassuring to see Martha completely unperturbed and relaxed in the company of the family, and it is also a good sign that she is a good match for them and is likely to settle. They agreed that she was the right cat for them and completed the necessary paperwork there and then. Martha will be collected on Friday to start her new life. I wish her and her new family many happy years together.